Marijuana now LEGAL in Nevada

News

nevada-legal-pot

As of January 1st, 2017, recreational marijuana is officially legal in the State of Nevada. Criminal penalties for adult possession and use of marijuana in the Silver State have been put to an end! Nevada is the 7th (8th if you include DC) to legalize pot after Alaska, California, Colorado, Massachusetts, Oregon, Washington, and Washington DC. The law applies to possession and personal use of up to 1 ounce of marijuana and allows for 6 plants at home if you live 25+ miles from a retail operation. Production and sale of marijuana with a 15% tax becomes legal in Nevada starting in 2018. The text of Question 2 to Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol, which passed by a 54.5% to 45.5% vote (a 98,785 vote difference), states in part:

In the interest of the public health and public safety, and in order to better focus state and local law enforcement resources on crimes involving violence and personal property, the People of the State of Nevada find and declare that the use of marijuana should be legal for persons 21 years of age or older, and its cultivation and sale should be regulated similar to other legal businesses.

The People of the State of Nevada declare that the cultivation and sale of marijuana should be taken from the domain of criminals and be regulated under a controlled system, where businesses will be taxed and the revenue will be dedicated to public education and to the enforcement of the regulations in this act.

   The People of the State of Nevada proclaim that marijuana should be regulated in a manner similar to alcohol so that:

   (a) Marijuana may only be purchased from a business that is licensed by the State of Nevada;

   (b) Business owners are subject to a review by the State of Nevada to confirm that the business owners and the business location are suitable to produce or sell marijuana;

   (c) Cultivating, manufacturing, testing, transporting, and selling marijuana will be strictly controlled through state licensing and regulation;

   (d) Selling or giving marijuana to persons under 21 years of age shall remain illegal;

   (e) Individuals will have to be 21 years of age or older to purchase marijuana;

   (f) Driving under the influence of marijuana will remain illegal; and

   (g) Marijuana sold in the state will be tested and labeled.

Which state will join Nevada and become the 8th state in the Union to legalize non-medical, adult-use of marijuana? Arizona? Vermont? Delaware? Rhode Island? In 2017 or 2018?

Share this Article:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

Leave a Comment